Every Reggae Girl At World Cup to Receive a Minimum of US $30,000!

Jamaica’s Reggae Girlz recently stunned the world with a remarkable 0-0 draw against favourites France in their opening game at the Women’s World Cup. 

The tournament, hosted by Australia and New Zealand, got underway on July 20th, and FIFA has  announced that every player participating in the competition will receive at least US $30,000.

FIFA’s commitment to financially reward the 732 players taking part in the prestigious event means that more than half of the organisation’s total prize money fund of $110 million will be distributed to the players across the 32 team squads.

This amount surpasses the previous prize fund of $30 million that FIFA had paid out during the 2019 Women’s World Cup in France.


During the group stage, the 16 nations that are eliminated will receive a total of $2.25 million from FIFA.

Among this sum, $690,000 will be distributed among the players, while the federations will receive $1,560,000.

For the victorious nation, FIFA will award$10.5 million. The players of the winning team will receive $6.21 million (US $270,000 each), and the remaining $4.29 million will be given given to their national federation.

The players on the tournament’s second-place team will be awarded $195,000 each. The team that secures victory in the third-place game will see their players receive $180,000 individually, whereas the players on the losing team in that game will each be given $165,000.

For teams that are eliminated in the quarterfinals, each player will receive $90,000, and for those unfortunate teams knocked out in the Round of 16, each player will receive $60,000.

Additionally, FIFA set aside $11.5 million in a fund to make daily-rate payments to the players’ clubs for releasing them to participate in national-team duties.

Looking ahead to the future, FIFA’s President, Gianni Infantino, has set an ambitious target of achieving equal prize money for both men and women at their respective World Cups in 2026 and 2027.


For the men’s 2022 World Cup in Qatar, the 32 national federations whose teams participated shared a total of $440 million in FIFA prize money.

Download The Jamaican Blogs™ App for your Android device: HERE

Remember to share this article on Facebook and other Social Media Platforms. To submit your own articles or to advertise with us please send us an EMAIL at: [email protected]

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments