Visa Free Travel to Europe For Jamaicans?

Having visa free access to several European countries may one day be a reality for Jamaicans.

According to the GleanerForeign Affairs and Foreign Trade Minister, Senator A.J. Nicholson recently disclosed that Jamaica will be pursuing the European Union (EU) visa-free travel mechanism that five CARICOM countries recently signed on to.

On May 28, the European Union signed short-stay visa waiver agreements with St Lucia, Dominica, Grenada, St Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago.

The new visa regime provides for visa-free travel to 26 EU countries which comprise the Schengen Area.


Citizens of the EU will also be able to visit the CARICOM territories visa-free.

Travelers can stay for a period of 90 days in any 180-day period.

Image via
Image via

The 26 countries in the Schengen area are as follows:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Liechtenstein

Download The Jamaican Blogs™ App for your Android device: HERE

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Devon Ellis
7 years ago

Jamaicans, be careful of these destination, especially if you’re a female. Many young ladies are lured to some of these destinations, end up in prostitution, or disappear, never to be seen again. I’m very serious about what I’m saying, I won’t label any specific country, ou countries, but it is reality..