Every Reggae Girl At Women’s World Cup to Receive a Minimum of US$60,000 After Making Round of 16!

The Reggae Girlz of Jamaica have captured the world’s attention with their outstanding performances at the Women’s World Cup, securing a place in the round of 16 for the first time in their history.

The team’s impressive run began with an impressive 0-0 draw against favourites France in their opening game, followed by a hard-fought 1-0 victory over Panama and another remarkable 0-0 draw against Brazil, which saw them advance to the knockout stage while eliminating the mighty Brazil in the process.

This achievement holds significant importance for Jamaica, as they become the first Caribbean team ever to reach the round of 16 at the prestigious tournament. Notably, they are also one of only three teams that have yet to concede a goal in the competition.

FIFA, the governing body of world football, has gone the extra mile to financially reward the players participating in the tournament.


Every player who reaches the round of 16 is to receive  US $60,000 in prize money.

This move reflects FIFA’s commitment to recognising and valuing the efforts of the 732 players from the 32 team squads taking part in the competition.

This unprecedented amount of prize money, totaling $110 million, surpasses the $30 million awarded during the previous Women’s World Cup held in France in 2019.

FIFA will distribute a total of $2.25 million to the 16 eliminated nations. From this sum, $690,000 will be shared among the players, while the federations will receive $1,560,000.

The victorious nation will be rewarded with $10.5 million. The players of the winning team will each receive $6.21 million (US $270,000 each), and the remaining $4.29 million will be granted to their national federation.

The runners-up will also be handsomely rewarded, with each player from the second-place team receiving $195,000. Similarly, the players on the team securing victory in the third-place game will each receive $180,000, while the players on the losing side of that game will each be granted $165,000.

Prize money breakdown by stage:

Stage Prize money per player (USD)
Group stage $30,000
Round of 16 $60,000
Quarterfinal $90,000
Fourth place $165,000
Third place $180,000
Runner up $195,000
Winner $270,000

FIFA has also allocated $11.5 million to make daily-rate payments to the players’ clubs for releasing them to participate in national-team duties, showing their commitment to supporting women’s football at all levels.

Looking ahead to the future, FIFA’s President, Gianni Infantino, has set a commendable goal of achieving equal prize money for both men and women at their respective World Cups in 2026 and 2027.

This forward-thinking approach aims to promote gender equality and elevate women’s football to the same level of recognition and respect as the men’s game.

The Reggae Girlz have not only made Jamaica proud but have also left an indelible mark on the Women’s World Cup.  And as the tournament progresses, the world will continue to witness the talent and determination of these inspiring athletes, who are not only making history but paving the way for a more inclusive and equitable future in football.

Download The Jamaican Blogs™ App for your Android device: HERE

Remember to share this article on Facebook and other Social Media Platforms. To submit your own articles or to advertise with us please send us an EMAIL at: [email protected]

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments