CONCACAF names 13 US cities as 2013 Gold Cup hosts

Eight new venues and six new cities have been included among the 13 host cities that will be used at this summer’s CONCACAF Gold Cup in the United States.

The announcement was made by regional governing body, CONCACAF.

The Gold Cup which runs from July 7 to 28 features three of Major League Soccer’s newest stadiums including Portland’s Jeld-Wen Field, Houston’s BBVA Compass Stadium and Salt Lake’s Rio Tinto Stadium.

Other debutant venues are M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, Atlanta’s Georgia Dome, Denver’s Sports Authority Field at Mile HIgh, Rentschler Field in East Hartford Connecticut, and Sun Life Stadium in Miami Gardens.


The Gold Cup in the meantime returns to another 5 venues from its previous editions, New York’s Red Bull Arena, Seattle’s Centurylink Field, Cowboys Stadium in Dallas, Chicago’s Soldier Field and the Rose Bowl in Los Angeles.

A venue for the final has yet to be announced.

The Gold Cup which is held every 2 years features 12 teams with the United States, Canada and Mexico qualifying automatically.

They will be joined by Caribbean champions Cuba, Trinidad & Tobago, Haiti, Martinique, Costa Rica, Honduras, Belize, and El Salvador.

Panama and Guatemala will play off for the final central American spot on Friday.

Remember to share this article on Facebook and subscribe to our mailing list to get new articles sent to you automatically.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments