Jamaican-born Raheem Sterling to play for England in World Cup 2014!

Jamaican-born winger Raheem Sterling is among a group of five Liverpool players who have been named by manager Roy Hodgson in England’s 23 man squad for the upcoming FIFA World Cup finals in Brazil.

The 19 year old Sterling made his England debut against Sweden in November 2012 and was included in the provisional squad after a number of impressive performances to help Liverpool finish second in the Barclays Premier League.

Sterling was selected to play for England for the 2011 U-17 World Cup and was called up to the senior England squad for the first time for a 2014 World Cup qualifying match against Ukraine, where he was an unused substitute. In early October he was called up for the first time to the England under-21 squad and made his debut as a substitute during a match against Serbia on 16 October. He made his senior debut for England on November 14, 2012, starting in a friendly away to Sweden.

This season he scored 9 goals for the Reds in an impressive BPL campaign.


Raheem Sterling from Jamaica in England national squad football team for World CUp 2014He now becomes the second Jamaican-born player after another former Liverpool legend John Barnes to be named in an England world cup squad.

The squad is being led by Steven Gerrard includes the likes of Wayne Rooney, Frank Lampard and Daniel Sturridge.

England begin their World Cup campaign against Italy in Manaus on June 14.

The Three Lions have been Group D where they will face Italy, Uruguay, and Costa Rica.

The team now faces a friendly international game against Peru at Wembley on May 30 before the June 2 deadline for the final squad to be named. It also has warm up games against Honduras on June 4 and Ecuador on June 7 both in Miami before heading off to the World Cup.

England squad:

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Fraser Forster (Celtic).


Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Chris Smalling (Manchester United).

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Everton), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Attackers: Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United).

Standby: John Ruddy (Norwich City), Jon Flanagan (Liverpool), John Stones (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Andy Carroll (West Ham United), Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC).

If you like this article please consider joining our Forum HERE to help us grow.

Remember to share this article on Facebook and other Social Media Platforms. To submit your own articles please send us an EMAIL at: [email protected]. Subscribe to our mailing list to get new articles sent to you automatically.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments