Jamaica College claims the Oliver Shield once again

Jamaica College are once again the undisputed kings of local schoolboy football after beating St. Elizabeth Technical 2-0 in Saturday’s return leg to win the two-way Olivier Shield playoff 5-0 on aggregate.

Sheldon McCoy in the 10th minute and Ramone Howell in the 34th got the goals for the Manning Cup winners who were laying hold on the Olivier Shield for the 3rd time since 2007.

This is was also JC’s their sixth time as All Island title champions as it was only in 1950 that the playoff featured the Manning Cup winners going up against the DaCosta Cup champions.

Oliver Shield WinnersThe victory also means the Olivier Shield has been won outright by Manning Cup teams for the past 7 years.


The Old Hope Road based team by virtue of beating STETHS have now won the Olivier Shield 18 times to move one behind Munro College who last won the title in 1951.

St. Georges College with 14, Cornwall College 11, and Kingston College 9, complete the top five most successful teams in Olivier Shield history.

Vere 6, Rusea’s 5, Wolmer’s 4, Clarendon College 3, STETHS 2, Excelsior 2, Charlie Smith 2, Norman Manley 2, Glenmuir 2 are the other teams with multiple titles.

Dinthill, Camperdown, Ardenne, Calabar and Bridgeport are teams to have won it once.

If you like this article please consider joining our Forum HERE to help us grow.

Remember to share this article on Facebook and other Social Media Platforms. Subscribe to our mailing list to get new articles sent to you automatically.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments